By Lynn McCain

Congratulations are due to Dr. Asma Nusrat, F. Peyton Rous Professor of Experimental Pathology and Director of Experimental Pathology, and Dr. Charles Parkos, Carl V. Weller Professor and Chair of Pathology, on being named 2022 American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows. The AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the Science family of journals. According to the AAAS announcement, the 2022 class was comprised of 505 scientists, engineers and innovators from around the world and across all disciplines.  Being selected as an AAAS Fellow is one of the most distinguished honors within the scientific community. The newly elected Fellows are being recognized for their scientific and socially notable achievements spanning their careers.

Nusrat was elected for her distinguished contributions to the field of pathology, particularly for providing insights into fundamental mechanisms controlling epithelial barrier function and repair under conditions of inflammation and during homeostasis. When she learned of her election, Nusrat stated, "I was thrilled to learn that my peers recognized my scientific accomplishments and elected me as an AAAS Fellow.  It is truly an honor." 

Parkos was selected for his distinguished contributions to the field of pathology, particularly for his research on the basic mechanisms of inflammation and modeling of the process of leukocyte transepithelial migration. "It is an honor to have been elected as an AAAS Fellow. I'm proud to be a member of this renowned group of scientists and to be recognized for my  accomplishments," responded Parkos.

“AAAS is proud to elevate these standout individuals and recognize the many ways in which they’ve advanced scientific excellence, tackled complex societal challenges and pushed boundaries that will reap benefits for years to come,” said Sudip Parikh, AAAS chief executive officer and executive publisher of the Science family of journals.

The University of Michigan is home to 17 of the newly elected fellows. The full list can be found here